Frequently Asked Questions

What is ITAC?

ITAC is the only source of community-wide integrated threat assessments for the Government of Canada. These assessments focus on national security issues such as incidents of terrorism, trends in terrorism, and the evaluation of security for domestic and international special events. ITAC brings together key partners from across the Canadian security intelligence community.

What Does ITAC Do?

ITAC’s role is to help prevent and reduce the effects of terrorist incidents on Canadians and Canadian interests, both at home and abroad.

ITAC analyzes security intelligence from its various partner institutions and produces threat assessments – integrated analyses of the intent and capability of terrorists to carry out attacks. These threat assessments are then distributed to members of the Canadian security intelligence community, provincial emergency authorities, first responders, and the private sector.

What Are Threat Assessments?

A threat assessment is an analysis of the intent and capability of terrorists to carry out attacks.

Threat assessments produced by ITAC are related to possible terrorist attacks, terrorist trends and special events taking place in Canada and globally. ITAC assessments are also used in the development of international travel advisories and in the development of threat and risk assessments for Canadian missions, interests, and persons abroad.

Why Was ITAC Created?

The Government of Canada introduced Securing an Open Society: Canada’s National Security Policy (NSP) in April 2004. The NSP included measures to address the threat of terrorism. One such measure was the creation of ITAC, which entered into operation on October 15, 2004.

How Does ITAC Work with Foreign Governments?

The Government of Canada’s ability to protect the safety and security of Canadians increasingly requires international cooperation. Nowhere is this more true than in the field of threat assessments. ITAC works with centres with similar mandates in the United Kingdom, United States, Australia, and New Zealand. Threat assessments produced by these agencies are distributed by ITAC to the Canadian security intelligence community. Similarly, relevant threat assessments prepared by ITAC are shared with these countries.

Who Is Responsible for Overseeing ITAC?

The National Security Advisor (NSA), in consultation with the Director of CSIS, is responsible for appointing the ITAC Director. The ITAC Director meets each year with the National Security Advisor and deputy ministers from each key partner organization. The purpose of these meetings is to review ITAC's performance; provide guidance on the focus, effectiveness, and efficiency of ITAC activities; and strategically orient threat assessment priorities. As a component of CSIS, ITAC is subject to review by the Security Intelligence Review Committee (SIRC).

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

Qu’est-ce que le CIET?

Le CIET constitue, au sein du gouvernement du Canada, la seule source d’évaluations cohérentes de la menace destinées à l’ensemble de l’appareil canadien du renseignement et de la sécurité. Ces évaluations mettent l’accent sur les questions de sécurité nationale comme les attentats terroristes, l’évolution du terrorisme et l’évaluation de la sécurité dans le cadre d’événements spéciaux ayant lieu au Canada et ailleurs. Le CIET réunit les partenaires clés de l’appareil canadien du renseignement et de la sécurité.

Que fait le CIET?

Le CIET contribue à prévenir les attentats terroristes et à en limiter les conséquences pour les Canadiens et les intérêts canadiens, tant au pays qu’à l’étranger.

Le CIET analyse les renseignements de sécurité fournis par ses partenaires et publie des évaluations de la menace, c’est-à-dire des analyses cohérentes des intentions des terroristes et des moyens dont ils disposent pour commettre des attentats. Ces évaluations sont ensuite communiquées aux membres de l’appareil canadien de la sécurité et du renseignement, aux services d’urgence provinciaux, aux premiers intervenants et au secteur privé.

En quoi consiste une évaluation de la menace?

Une évaluation de la menace constitue une analyse des intentions des terroristes et des moyens dont ils disposent pour commettre des attentats.

Les évaluations de la menace du CIET portent sur les attentats terroristes possibles, l’évolution du terrorisme et les événements spéciaux ayant lieu au Canada et ailleurs. Elles servent également à rédiger les avertissements à l’intention des voyageurs et les évaluations de la menace et des risques qui pèsent sur les missions, les intérêts et les ressortissants canadiens à l’étranger.

Pourquoi le CIET a-t-il été créé?

Le gouvernement du Canada a adopté une politique intitulée Protéger une société ouverte : la politique canadienne de sécurité nationale. Cette politique prévoyait des mesures pour faire face aux menaces terroristes, notamment la création du Centre intégré d’évaluation des menaces (CIET) qui a été inauguré le 15 octobre 2004.

Comment le CIET collabore-t-il avec des gouvernements étrangers?

La capacité du gouvernement du Canada de contribuer à la sécurité nationale et internationale repose de plus en plus sur la coopération internationale. C’est encore plus vrai dans le domaine des évaluations de la menace. Le CIET collabore avec des centres au mandat similaire au Royaume-Uni, aux États-Unis, en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande. Il diffuse les évaluations de la menace produites par ces derniers à l’appareil canadien du renseignement et de la sécurité. En retour, il partage avec eux ses évaluations de la menace pertinentes.

Qui est chargé de surveiller le CIET?

Le conseiller en matière de sécurité nationale (CSN) nomme le directeur du CIET en consultation avec le directeur du SCRS. Tous les ans, le directeur du CIET rencontre le conseiller en matière de sécurité nationale et les sous-ministres de tous les principaux partenaires pour évaluer le rendement du CIET, recevoir des conseils sur l’orientation, l’efficacité et l’efficience des activités du CIET et établir les priorités en matière d’évaluation des menaces. Comme le CIET est une composante du SCRS, le Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité (CSARS) surveillent ses activités.