About ITAC

The Government of Canada introduced Securing an Open Society: Canada’s National Security Policy (NSP), in April 2004. All levels of government must work together to prevent and respond to the threat of terrorism.

The National Security Policy included measures to address terrorist threats. One such measure was the creation of the Integrated Threat Assessment Centre (ITAC), which entered into operation on October 15, 2004.

In June 2011, ITAC was renamed the Integrated Terrorism Assessment Centre in order to renew its focus on the terrorist threats to Canadians and Canadian interests.

ITAC's Role

ITAC’s role is to help prevent and reduce the effects of terrorist incidents on Canadians and Canadian interests, both at home and abroad.

Various departments and agencies within the federal government are responsible for collecting information about threats to our national security. Such information is known as security intelligence. Participating departments include the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), Canada Border Services Agency, Transport Canada, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP).

ITAC analyzes security intelligence from its various partner institutions and produces threat assessments – integrated analyses of the intent and capability of terrorists to carry out attacks. These threat assessments are then distributed to members of the Canadian security intelligence community, provincial emergency authorities, first responders, and the private sector.

Threat assessments produced by ITAC are related to possible terrorist attacks, terrorist trends and special events taking place in Canada and globally. ITAC assessments are also used in the development of international travel advisories and in the development of threat and risk assessments for Canadian missions, interests, and persons abroad.

The Centre’s team consists of employees from various security intelligence organizations from across Canada, and is a vital link in ensuring an integrated, security intelligence system to protect Canadians.

ITAC team members are able to access a number of open and classified sources of information across government to produce threat assessments.  It allows the Centre to offer a broad and integrated analysis regarding a particular threat.

As needed, ITAC can draw upon the specialized knowledge of other federal government departments and agencies.

Relationship with CSIS

ITAC is housed in the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS) headquarters in Ottawa, Ontario. The Centre is subject to the CSIS Act, which governs the collection, use, and distribution of security information.

The Centre is also subject to review by the Security Intelligence Review Committee (SIRC).

À propos du CIET

Le gouvernement du Canada a adopté une politique intitulée Protéger une société ouverte : la politique canadienne de sécurité nationale en avril 2004. Tous les niveaux de gouvernement doivent unir leurs efforts pour prévenir la menace terroriste et y réagir.

Cette politique prévoyait des mesures pour faire face aux menaces terroristes, notamment la création du Centre intégré d’évaluation des menaces (CIEM) qui a été inauguré le 15 octobre 2004.

En juin 2011, afin de confirmer l’importance accordée à la menace terroriste pour les Canadiens et les intérêts canadiens, le Centre intégré d’évaluation des menaces (CIEM) a été renommé Centre intégré d’évaluation du terrorisme (CIET).

Rôle du CIET

Le CIET contribue à prévenir les attentats terroristes et à en limiter les conséquences pour les Canadiens et les intérêts canadiens, tant au pays qu’à l’étranger.

Divers ministères et organismes fédéraux, dont le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS), l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Transports Canada et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), sont chargés de recueillir des informations sur les menaces qui pèsent sur la sécurité nationale qu’on appelle également renseignements de sécurité.

Le CIET analyse les renseignements de sécurité fournis par ses divers partenaires et publie des évaluations de la menace, c’est-à-dire des analyses cohérentes des intentions des terroristes et des moyens dont ils disposent pour commettre des attentats. Ces évaluations sont ensuite communiquées aux membres de l’appareil canadien de la sécurité et du renseignement, aux services d’urgence provinciaux, aux premiers intervenants et au secteur privé.

Les évaluations de la menace du CIET portent sur les attentats terroristes possibles, l’évolution du terrorisme et les événements spéciaux ayant lieu au Canada et ailleurs. Elles servent également à rédiger les avertissements à l’intention des voyageurs et les évaluations de la menace et des risques qui pèsent sur les missions, les intérêts et les ressortissants canadiens à l’étranger.

L’équipe du CIET, qui comprend des membres d’organismes de sécurité et de renseignement de partout au Canada, joue un rôle de premier plan au sein d’un réseau intégré de renseignement de sécurité chargé d’assurer la protection des Canadiens.

Les membres de l’équipe ont accès à plusieurs sources d’information ouvertes et classifiées dans l’ensemble du gouvernement pour rédiger leurs évaluations de la menace, ce qui permet au CIET d’offrir une analyse exhaustive et cohérentes d’une menace en particulier.

Au besoin, le CIET peut faire appel aux connaissances spécialisées d’autres ministères et organismes fédéraux.

Relations avec le SCRS

Le CIET, dont les locaux sont situés à l'Administration centrale du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) à Ottawa (Ontario), est assujetti aux dispositions de la Loi sur le SCRS sur la collecte, l'utilisation et la diffusion des informations sur la sécurité.

Ses activités font l'objet d'une surveillance du Comité de surveillance des activités de renseignement de sécurité (CSARS).